Neta: Norway Knights Penguin Soldier, Scots Amused

Usually when I scope out Neta for awesome shots I let the pictures do most of the talking, but this shot just BEGGED for some additional research:

This penguin probably outranks everyone else in this shot.
This penguin probably outranks everyone else in this shot.

Just this past week, a visiting regiment of Norwegian troops visited Scotland and knighted a king penguin named Nils Olav at the nearby Edinburgh Zoo. If that wasn’t strange enough, you should also know that back in 2005 Nils Olav was promoted to Colonel-in-Chief of this guard regiment (being a mascot has its perks, I suppose). Combine that with the fact that this isn’t the first time Norway’s recruited a penguin into their ranks (another Nils Olav was added to the troop back in the 1970s) and you’ve got a totally ridiculous awesome story.

I, for one, welcome our new penguin overlords.
I, for one, welcome our new penguin overlords.

Source: Neta, supplemented by Yahoo! News

~ by djudge on August 20, 2008.

2 Responses to “Neta: Norway Knights Penguin Soldier, Scots Amused”

  1. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said
    “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit
    crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants
    to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  2. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board
    and I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I’m hoping to give one thing back and aid others such as you helped me.

Leave a Reply

 
